

750 Pearl Nix Parkway • Gainesville, GA • 30503 • Phone: 770-536-1294 • Fax 770-536-5150 • www.gainesvillehousing.org

THE REGUAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE CITY OF GAINESVILLE, WAS HELD ON January 15, 2025.

The Commissioners of the Housing Authority of the City of Gainesville, Georgia, met for a Regular Meeting at the Gainesville Housing located at 750 Pearl Nix Pkwy Gainesville, Georgia at 7:30 a.m. on Wednesday, January 15, 2025.

The meeting was called to order by Daryl Smallwood. Those present and absent were recorded as follows:

Present: Darryl Smallwood **Staff:** Beth Brown

Joy Griffin Shanna Kennedy
Faron Thompson Patrick Scarlett
Michael Thurmond Jane Smith
Abigail Guzman Deji Akintonde
Tiana Ford
Megan McKellar
Doris Smith

Absent: Kimberly Harper

Visitor: Jennifer Hothem

There being a quorum present, Daryl Smallwood called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m.

MINUTES

Minutes from the last meeting of December 18, 2024 were presented for approval. On motion made by J. Griffin and seconded by M. Thurmond, the minutes were approved.

Ayes: D. Smallwood, J. Griffin, F. Thompson, M. Thurmond

Nays: None Absent: K. Harper

FINANCIAL REPORT

No Formal financial report. Currently closing out 2 entities. Audit scheduled February 17.

SECRETARY REPORT

- B. Brown introduced Doris Smith as Resident Services Director.
- B. Brown gave update of Family Self-Sufficiency Program. We must enroll 25 families in 2025. J. Griffin wanted news release for program.

- B. Brown announced the launch of the new website at <u>www.gainesvillehousing.org</u>. Edits can be made by staff.
- B. Brown gave update of community events she attended.
- B. Brown gave update on Harrison Village construction.
- B. Brown began a discussion to create a review committee to interview and assess applicants received for an RFQ that was issued for development services for Jesse Jewell redevelopment. F. Thompson and D. Smallwood will be on committee.

NEW BUSINESS

On motion made by J. Griffin and seconded by M. Thurmond, the Board voted to maintain current leadership as D. Smallwood for chairman and F. Thompson as vice-chair.

Ayes: D. Smallwood, J. Griffin, F. Thompson, M. Thurmond

Nays: None Absent: K. Harper

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned by D. Smallwood.

SEAL ATTEST:

Secretary to the Board:
Beth A. Brown, Executive Director